2014 Feb Redesign Roof


A project of the Democracy Fund

2014 Feb Redesign Search

2014 Feb Redesign Print/Email

Print | Email

Nice Social Bookmark

electionlineWeekly — November 12, 2015

Table of Contents

 IV. Legal Updates

Arizona: In a 2-1 decision, a 3-judge panel of the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals ruled that Tucson’s election system unconstitutionally favors Democrats. The system, a ward-only primary election and an at-large general, was described as unusual and odd by members of the court.

Kansas: Secretary of State Kris Kobach has asked a judge to dismiss the lawsuit against the state’s proof-of-citizenship law arguing that the plaintiffs no longer have grounds to sue since Kobach has approved their voter registration.

North Carolina: In new court filings, the North Carolina NAACP said that the state’s photo ID law is still discriminatory even though legislation was approved this summer to ease restrictions.

Texas: A three-judge federal district court in Texas has ruled that the state does not need to complete redistricting in advance of the 2016 election cycle. "It would be extremely difficult to implement new interim plans without tremendous interruption to the 2016 election schedule," the court wrote, according to ABC News.

U.S. Virgin Islands: Acting Attorney General Claude Walker issued a formal opinion this week telling the St. Croix board of elections that voters must be allowed to feed their own ballots into voting machines in the upcoming 2016 elections.

U.S. Territories: Six former residents of Guam, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands filed suit in federal court in Illinois this week seeking voting rights for Americans living in a U.S. territory and the District of Columbia to vote for president (D.C. already has this right) and voting representation in Congress. "One year out from the 2016 presidential election, this lawsuit highlights the injustice and absurdity that in 2015 Americans are still being disenfranchised because of where they live," said Neil Weare, president and founder of We the People.